Making and Escape Rooms

This weekend I am working on projects in Learn to Program with Scratch and I am also working on ISTE 2016 proposals. My reflection this week is on how a teacher could take Scratch and makey-makey and turn it into an escape room. When we covering different Makey Makey projects in Week 2, the project that caught my eye was the Makey Journey.  This project had the students use Scratch and go step by step along the circuit for the adventure. The more I have been reading about Escape Rooms, the more I believe that Scratch, makey makey and other components used in the maker movement could be used to design an Escape room. The story could start in Scratch, and the players could follow clues both in Scratch and in the actual room to solve puzzles and “escape” the room during a sixty minute period. The puzzles that needed to be solved could all involve both math and science. I am really enjoying the possibility that Scratch and programming is opening up to me.

Leave a Reply

